Colin Crosby Heritage Tours

Here Come the Waterside Walks

It’s that time of year again when you have the chance of spending Tuesday evenings strolling by the waterside.

The Waterside Walks are starting on Tuesday 4th April, running for sixteen weeks, the last one being on Tuesday 18th July.

Each walk starts at 7pm. They take place in the City of Leicester itself, and in various towns and villages across the county, such as Loughborough, Market Harborough, Hinckley and Mountsorrel.

The series includes two new ones this year – Waterside Abbey Park and Waterside Charnwood, in Loughborough.

Obviously, you don’t have to take part in all the walks. You can pick and choose as you see fit. But quite a few people like the idea so much that they try not to miss any.

The ones in Leicester itself always cause surprise – many people have no idea of this wonderful resource that we have on our doorstep. And of course several of the walks go right out into the country – it’s lovely.

Two of the Waterside Walks take in the delightful Watermead Country Park. These are Waterside Birstall and Waterside Thurmaston.

You can book for these walks as early as you like. The ones in Leicester are 3.50 on the night, and 2.50 when paid in advance. The ones in the county are 4 on the night, and 3 when you pay in advance.

So here’s the list.

Tue 4 Apr Waterside Leicester Meet: Vaughan College 7pm

Tue 11 Apr Waterside Belgrave Meet: Cardinal Wolsey Statue, Abbey Park 7pm

Stonehurst Farm 7pm

Tue 25 Apr Waterside Loughborough Meet: Charnwood Water 7pm

Tue 2 May Waterside Birstall Meet: St. James the Greater Church 7pm

Tue 9 May Waterside Hinckley Meet: Trinity Marina 7pm

Tue 16 May Waterside Quorn and Barrow-upon-Soar Meet: Quorn Cross 7pm

Tue 23 May Waterside Market Harborough Meet: Angel Hotel 7pm

Tue 30 May Waterside Mountsorrel Meet: Stonehurst Farm 7pm

Tue 6 Jun Waterside Loughborough and Barrow-upon-Soar Meet: Charnwood Water 7pm

Tue 13 Jun Waterside Glen Parva Meet: County Arms 7pm

Tue 20 Jun Waterside Abbey Park Meet: Cardinal Wolsey Statue 7pm

Tue 27 Jun Waterside Charnwood Meet: Charnwood Water 7pm

Tue 4 Jul Waterside Thurmaston Meet: St. Michael’s Church 7pm

Tue 11 Jul Waterside Glenhills Meet: St. Andrew’s Church 7pm

Tue 18 Jul Waterside West End Meet: Newarke Bridge 7pm

Hope to see you all on these lovely walks.