It was the capital of the Anglo-Saxon Kingdom of Mercia, at times the most powerful in England. In 757, Offa had a Royal palace here, although there is now no trace.
Tamworth Castle was built shortly after the Norman Conquest by Robert de Marmion. It retains its red sandstone Norman keep, and has a Tudor chapel and hall and Jacobean apartments. The local museum is housed in the castle.
The red brick Town Hall dates from 1701. From its steps, Robert Peel, local M. P. who later became Prime Minister and initiated the police force (they became known as "bobbies" or "peelers"), issued the Tamworth Manifesto in 1834.
There is a statue of Robert Peel in the Market Place.
The impressive 14th century St. Editha's Church has a unique double spiral staircase and pre-Raphaelite stained glass by Ford Madox Brown and Edward Burne-Jones.
The Ethelfleda Statue, outside the castle, honours the daughter of Alfred the Great, a general in her own right, who reclaimed the East Midlands from the Danish invaders. She won an important battle at Tamworth in 913 and built a huge mound for defence, where the castle stands today.
There are a number of almshouses, one of which was founded in 1693 by Thomas Guy, a local man who also founded Guy's Hospital in London.
A short way out of the town is Drayton Manor Park, one of the country's most popular theme parks.
Tamworth was the place where the three wheeled car named the Reliant Robin was manufactured.
There is a breed of pig named the Tamworth.
Blue Badge Guide Colin Crosby is available to lead Guided Walks around Tamworth for groups.