St. Mary`s Church is built of flint and dates largely from the 15th century. It has a fine tower and a 13th century chest.
In the long High Street are many picturesque houses.
The Links is an imposing Georgian house built in 1775, and was formerly the House of Correction.
Crown House, dating from 1692, has excellent pargeting.
Blue Badge Guide Colin Crosby is available to lead Guided Walks around Newport (Essex) for groups.