Long Melford is a picturesque small town in Suffolk, 3 miles from Sudbury.
As the name implies, it is a long village, running for 3 miles along an old Roman road.
The Village Green, at the top of the hill on the road to Bury St. Edmunds, is one of the most outstanding in England.
The mediaeval Holy Trinity Church is a particularly magnificent one, and dominates the Village Green. The Lady Chapel, dating from 1496, is virtually a separate building, with its own ambulatory.
The red brick Trinity Hospital, founded in 1593, also stands on the green.
Melford Hall, dating from the Elizabethan period, has pepper pot turrets, and is now in the care of the National Trust. Beatrix Potter was a frequent visitor.
Kentwell Hall, also Elizabethan, is situated just past the church. It hosts re-enactment weekends.