Formerly a market town, it has the remains of a 14th century cross in the centre, near which are stocks and a whipping post.
St. Mary's Church has a wonderful collection of monuments to Dukes of Rutland, two of them by Grinling Gibbons. The spire rises to 210 feet.
One of the monuments is unique, in that it attributes the deaths of two boys to "wicked practice and sorcery". Joan Flower and her daughters Margaret and Phillipa were found guilty of witchcraft at Lincoln Assizes in 1621.
There is a narrow footbridge over the little River Devon to the churchyard. This was provided in the late 16th century by the Rector, Samuel Fleming, who had almost drowned when falling in.
Blue Badge Guide Colin Crosby is available to lead Guided Walks around Bottesford for groups.