Colin Crosby Heritage Tours

Leicestershire Cricket Prospects for 2007

The cricket season is about to start in earnest, and Leicestershire have high hopes for a successful 2007.

Chief coach Tim Boon made a lot of changes last year, especially with regard to encourging young cricketers. In previous years, there had not been much of that.

Jeremy Snape will continue as captain, but is unlikely to figure in many first class matches, when the former Essex opening batsman Darren Robinson will skipper the side.

The most significant close season change is the departure of Darren Maddy, who had been with the county since his schooldays. Darren is looking for a rejuvenation with Warwickshire.

Overseas players this year are two teenagers. Mansoor Amjad is a Pakistani leg spinner, while R. P. Singh is an Indian fast bowler.

The South African H. D. Ackerman showed himself to be a prolific batsman last year, setting a new record for the highest score for the county, 309 not out, beating Brad Hodge's best.

Veteran wicket keeper Paul Nixon and young fast bowler Stuart Broad are still with the England World Cup party in the Caribbean.

Other members of the squad who are expected to do well are batsmen John Maunders and John Sadler, wicket keeper Tom New, all rounder James Allenby, spinner Claude Henderson and pace bowlers David Masters, Nick Walker and Ryan Cummins.

Others who may force their way into the squad are Matt Boyce, Marc Rosenberg, Paul Harrison and Daniel Rowe.

Leicestershire won the Twenty20 last year, for the second time in its three year history, and will be looking to successfully defend this trophy and hopefully win some others.