Colin Crosby Heritage Tours

Clifton House (Kings Lynn)

Clifton House is a historic house at Kings Lynn in Norfolk.

It is situated in Queen Street, between St. Margarets Church and the quays beside the River Great Ouse.

The building dates from the 14th century, and has a brick facade to Queen Street added in 1708 by Henry Bell for the merchant Samuel Taylor. The door and porch are recessed from the street, and flanked by a pair of barley sugar columns.

Running around the corner into King`s Staith Lane are a spacious set of windows.

Attached to the rear of Clifton House is a five storey 16th century tower house. Used as a lookout, it afforded merchants the opportunity to see their ships coming into port, without having to experience the less salubrious aspects of the quayside.

Bookmark this page

Bookmark this page with

What is

Places in Kings Lynn...

Events in Kings Lynn...