Colin Crosby Heritage Tours

St. Mary`s Church (East Bergholt)

St. Mary`s Church is the parish church of the pretty Suffolk village of East Bergholt.

The priest`s room above the porch is the subject of one of John Constable`s paintings, and the centre window of the South aisle is in memory of the painter, who was born in the village. There is a memorial to John`s wife Maria in the chancel.

Golding Constable and his wife Ann, his parents, are buried in the churchyard.

The tower was begun in 1525 at the expense of Cardinal Wolsey, a native of Ipswich. But after his downfall and death, the work was abandoned and the tower remains partially built.

The unique bell cage in the churchyard houses the church`s five bells, the oldest of which was made about 1450. The cage was erected as a temporary measure in 1531. The bells are not rung by rope, but by hands applied directly to the bells. They are the heaviest five bells in the world.

Bookmark this page

Bookmark this page with

What is