Colin Crosby Heritage Tours

Ulverscroft Priory (Ulverscroft)

Ulverscroft Priory, at Ulverscroft in Charnwood Forest, is now a picturesque ruin.

The Priory of St. Mary was founded by Robert le Bossu, Earl of Leicester, in 1134, in what is virtually a secret valley.

Originally there were three hermits, but the Augustinians took over in 1174. It lasted until the Diossolution of the Monasteries in 1539.

The ruins are fairly extensive, and include the West tower.

Ulverscroft Priory is now incorporated into a farmhouse, and not open to the public.

However, it can be viewed from the nearby footpath running along the valley.

Bookmark this page

Bookmark this page with

What is