The town has been recognised as the headquarters of horse racing since the reign of Charles II, and the first recorded race was held in 1619. The Jockey Club controls the licensing of jockeys, trainers and racecourses.
Newmarket Racecourse is one of the foremost in the country, and the gentle countryside surrounding the town is dominated by smooth green paddocks, enclosed by white fences, while there are various courses for early morning gallops.
Among the famous races held at Newmarket are the Cesarewitch, the Two Thousand Guineas and the Cambridgeshire.
The National Stud, just outside the town, possesses some of the world`s finest stallions.
Newmarket suffered a disastrous fire in 1683, while Charles II was visiting the town, and much of the building dates from then.
Beside the Jockey Club in the High Street is the National Horse Racing Museum.
The Rutland Arms and the White Hart are both coaching inns, and Newmarket boasts the homes of two famous Royal mistresses, Nell Gwynne and Lily Langtry.
There is an elegant Clock Tower at one end of the High Street.
Blue Badge Guide Colin Crosby is available to lead Guided Walks around Newmarket for groups.