It was formerly famous for silk weaving.
St. Edward the Confessor Church, largely Decorated, was modernised by G. E. Street in the 19th century. In the churchyard is an Anglo-Saxon cross shaft.
All Saints was also modernised, at about the same time, by Norman Shaw.
The Market Place is still busy, and nearby 17th century buildings include the Roebuck Inn and the Ash almshouses.
Brindley Mill houses displays on the canal engineer James Brindley.
In 1885 - 86, a group of ladies from the town made a copy of the Bayeux Tapestry.